top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

…and it’s Christmas already!

Updated: Jan 4, 2020

It’s officially been over a month since I first arrived in Zimbabwe.…time has flown and yet Europe already feels like worlds away. The last few weeks have been a time of learning, discovering and exploring for me.



Learning about…well everything. Like…

*what to do if a hippo capsizes your raft

*how to spot camouflaged animals in the bush (still a lot of work to be done there)

*when to smile rather than massively mispronounce ndebele words

*how to drive in soft gusu sand

*how to work ‘from home’

*how to survive without cash


Discovering more things than I can think of listing…

*that my fear of hippos really helps me paddle faster

*that a bed time of 8:30pm is very ok

*that spicy biltong is a driving hazard

*that there’s no such thing as too much mosquito spray

*that it’s tough working on my own

*that plans are always made to be changed

*that my singing doesn’t get any better even when road tripping on my own in a big wobbly safari vehicle

*that outdoor showers and toilets are really the best

*that good chocolate does exist in Zimbabwe (Cadbury’s Lunch Bar has saved my life a few times)

*that monkeys like to spy on you while you are sleeping


Exploring the small and big things that Zimbabwe has to offer like…

*beautiful lodges and landscapes, night skies and sunrises

*the bush, its wildlife, colours and noises

*amazing sunsets on the Zambezi

*close animals encounters (when they are just as surprised to see you as you are to see them!)

*the insect kingdom - there are MANY I have never seen before in my life

*the mighty and very beautiful Zambezi river from the bottom of the gorge and while riding its (bumpy) rapids

*all the best pizza spots…in Bulawayo, Victoria Falls and Bomani. So far the winner goes to Bomani!


I still have so much I want to explore, so much I hope to discover, and so incredibly much I still need to learn...


Here’s to a mushe in the bushe festive season to all of you and wishing you an incredible start to 2020!


With all my love x




73 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page